WIP – Redesigning a fabric panel

SAMSUNG CSC             SAMSUNG CSC

Work In Progress: Picture on the left shows the original fabric panel. Picture on the right shows how it looks today.

I bought this fabric panel (patt 7194, created by Katie Hennagir for Andover Fabrics), last year and then put it away in my fabric collection. I just didn’t know what to do with it. I knew I didn’t just want to put some borders on the panel, but what to do…

A couple of months ago I put the panel up on my design wall and just looked at it for a few days…then a few days more. I was drawn to the circles on the panel, the colour circles, the circles on the tree an toad stool. I had a look in my fabrics and found a red and white polka dot fabric that coordinated with the panel beautifully. I cut the panel in to sections and then inserted the red polka dot strips, they finish at a 1 inch width. I then sewed all the sections back together (rejigged a bit…deliberately of course). I then made the border from blocks (the proper name of which I am unsure) and then added a 2 1/2 inch border in the white background fabric. It will be a cot size quilt when finished.

Here is a closer look…

SAMSUNG CSC

This quilt is sandwiched, I have just finished quilting in the ditch to anchor the fabrics. I am going to add quilting inside of the panel sections, this was going to be straight line quilting but my walking foot has broken, (it was a cheap generic foot, giving rise to the old adage, buy cheap buy twice!),  so it might be free motion quilted instead.

Lisa at The Quilting Bird

You might also like to take a look at my Etsy Shop The QuiltingBird

 

 

One thought on “WIP – Redesigning a fabric panel

  1. Pingback: Thank Friday It’s Finished! Animal Panel Baby Quilt | The Quilting Bird

Leave a Reply

