Sewvivor 3 quilting comp entry…not quite

The auditions for Sewvivor 3: Quilters edition close today. To find out more about this online quilting competition click here 

Here is my entry:

SAMSUNG CSC

…hmm…this is not the work in progress shot, this is actually how the quilt looks right now. My original blog on sewvivor was called ‘are you up for a quilting challenge’, clearly I am not.

Perhaps it looks better close up…

SAMSUNG CSC

…No?

My quilt, as you can see is unfinished. Why is it not finished? Well, after stressing myself out about it being too simple, I decided to enter something else and promptly began cutting up a gorgeous fat quarter set of fabric, called Papillion mauve I had purchased from Textile Francais UK. You can see this quilt top in my post Work In Progress – Lilac Baby. I love the top, but realised when I had finished it, that I did not have any suitable fabric for the borders, so that was put aside. I then decided to make a photo quilt, but was thwarted by technology.

With time running out and only 3 days left before auditions closed, I went back to this quilt that I am calling ‘animal hearts’. I usually quilt with cotton thread, but ordered a green variegated thread from the superior rainbows range, not realising it was a trilobal polyester until it arrived. My sewing machine has real problems winding the bobbing tension correctly for these types of threads, so another day was lost trying to fix that issue.

I realised last night, that there was just no way that I was going to finish quilting and then making and applying the binding to this quilt. Dashed, are my hopes of being crowned Sewvivor 3 winner.

But all is not lost, if  like me you have missed the auditions deadline there is still the Sewvivor Flickr Group sew along, or you can post to Instagram with #sewvivor, and you will still be in with a chance of winning the random prize draw.

Click here to find out more about Sewvivor 3: Quilters edition hosted by Rach H on Family Ever After Blog.

Lisa at The Quilting Bird

You might also like to take a look at my Etsy shop TheQuiltingBird

One thought on “Sewvivor 3 quilting comp entry…not quite

  1. Pingback: Work In Progress – Baby Quilt | The Quilting Bird

Leave a Reply

