Thank Friday Its Finished! Animal patches baby quilt

For those of you who read my work in progress post on the animal patches baby quilt (click here to read) and have been waiting patiently to see the finished quilt…ta da…

animal hearts baby quilt

I added a binding from a really cute floral fabric that picks up the colours used in the quilt top beautifully. Here is the back view…

animal patches baby quilt back

(Please ignore the coloured circles these are just my pin heads!) I had some real fun with the straight line quilting. You will remember from the work in progress post that I had a lot of bobbin thread breaks using a trilobal polyester thread because my very basic sewing machine is not capable of winding the bobbin tight enough. Despite the frustrations I am pleased I persevered because the thread looks beautiful on the quilt, unfortunately my camera skills are not good enough to really capture the beauty of the stitching. The thread is a variegated green from Superior’s rainbow collection and it really shines on the quilt adding more dimension to the simple quilting lines.

animal patches quilt fold

As usual I used a quilters dream wadding, all fabrics are 100% cotton and the quilt is finished with a double binding finished by hand. The finished size of the quilt is cot size.

To find out more about my inspiration for this quilt have a look at the work in progress post here.

I will be linking up with Thank Goodness It’s Finished Friday (TGIFF) this week hosted by Quilt Matters. Link A Finish Friday hosted by Richard and Tanya Quilts. Finish it up Friday hosted by Crazy Mom Quilts. Needle and Thread Thursday hosted by My Quilt Infatuation.

Lisa at The Quilting Bird

You might also like to take a look at my Etsy shop TheQuiltingBird

 

 

12 thoughts on “Thank Friday Its Finished! Animal patches baby quilt

Leave a Reply

