Thank Friday It’s Finished! Animal Panel Baby Quilt

Ok, so I am posting this on Saturday, but technically I did finish it on Friday so it still counts!

Animal Panel Baby QuiltI had purchased a fabric panel without much thought as to what I would do with it. I didn’t just want a panel quilt with borders so added the red polka dot fabric which I think really enhances the original panel.

I used a block pattern called delectable mountains I found at Quilters Casche, to make the borders, I really didn’t want plain borders as I felt there wasn’t much going on in the panel.

I did a work in progress post for this quilt called redesigning a fabric panel, which details how I constructed this quilt. Here is the original panel that I sliced and diced:

Animal Panel Quilt

The quilting was originally stitch in the ditch, but I felt that was a little too plain and I wanted to connect the border to the central panel, so I added some straight line quilting.

Animal Panel Quilt Back

The patterning adds some more interest to the back, which was quite plain. I used a trilobal polyester thread in variegated green from Superior threads Rainbow range. If you read my post on the Animal Patches baby quilt, you will know that I had a lot of trouble with the bobbin thread breaking, caused by my machine not winding the bobbin tightly enough. Despite all the hassle I loved the look of the thread when the quilting was finished so decided to use it again here.

Animal Panel Quilt

It is a really lovely thread with a beautiful sheen that adds dimension to the quilting.

I have to admit that I have really struggled with this quilt creatively. I felt constrained by the panel and really had to fight to produce something that was a little bit different. I bought two panels, so I still have another one. I think I will cut it down and use them in different projects rather than in one quilt as I did here.

I am linking up with Show Off Saturday hosted by Sew Can She, Can I get a whoop whoop hosted by Confessions of a fabric addict, Fabric Frenzy Friday hosted by Fortworth Fabric Studio, The Handmade Hangout hosted by Too Much Time On My Hands, Finish It Friday hosted by Crazy Mom Quilts and Pretty Pintastic hosted by Coffee With Us 3.

Lisa at The Quilting Bird

You might also like to take a look at my Etsy shop TheQuiltingBird

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Thank Friday It’s Finished! Animal Panel Baby Quilt

    • Thanks Zenia, I thought it was going to be pretty straight forward before I started it, since I was using a fabric panel, but I really struggled with what to do with it from start to finish. I do love the way it turned out though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

