Thank Friday It’s Finished! Lined santa sack

Santa Sack

I showed this as a work in progress in a previous post. It has now had all the markings washed off, stray threads clipped and has been ironed so it is nice and crisp.

The fabrics are some gorgeous fat quarters I picked up from Kaleidoscope quilt shop’s stand at The Festival of Quilts 2014. They currently have the fabrics in stock in their online shop. I have used Christmas Wish by Lizzie Mackay for Dashwood Studio and Winter Wonderland by Moda. From my fabric collection I added in some metallic prints from Makower UK.

Santa Sack

The starry fabric for the back is another metallic print called  The Henley Studio from Makower UK, I purchased this from Hobbycraft. I got my fabric in store and they don’t seem to have it listed online. For the name I used Stained by Sharpie fabric markers, this was the first time I used them and they are really easy to work with on fabric. These fabric markers have a brush tip and can make thin or thick lines depending on the angle of the brush and how much pressure you use.

Santa SackI have lined the Santa sack using a calico (muslin) and stitched a 4 inch strip of the backing fabric to the top, so when the drawstrings are pulled you see the pretty fabric, not the boring calico (muslin). I added a grab handle that can also be used as a hanging strap.

All the fabrics used are quilting cotton. The finished size of the Santa Sack is a very roomy 60 x 65 cm (23.5 x 25.5 inches). I wanted it to be large enough to fit those bulky presents in and thought it would be a useful way organising the under the tree presents. The handle also makes it versatile so it can be hung up instead of a Christmas stocking.

I made this for a friend but loved the way it turned out so I have added it to my Etsy shop.

There are a lot of shop links in this post, I have added these for your information and I am not affiliated to any of the shops mentioned, (apart from my own of course).

Santa SackLisa at The Quilting Bird

I will be linking up with Needle And Thread Thursday, Crazy Mom Quilts, TGIFF, Let’s Bee Social, Show and Tell Tuesday Sew Can She

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Thank Friday It’s Finished! Lined santa sack

    • Hi Lisa, this bag shape is very versatile. I used it to make a toy sack for my son to stuff all his cuddly toys in. So much fit in the toy bag it gave me the idea of making it as a santa sack. Having the grab handle on it means it can be hung up easily, or dragged around by the little ones (if they are anything like my son!)

      Like

  1. Pingback: TUTORIAL: Personalised Drawstring Santa Sack or Toy Bag | The Quilting Bird

Leave a Reply

